Visit Holland - The Netherlands

Municipalities in Gelderland on Google Maps

Gelderland is a province of the Netherlands, located in the central eastern part of the country.

Historically, the province (area) dates from states of the Holy Roman Empire and takes its name from the nearby German city of Geldern. The capital city is Arnhem. The two other major cities, Nijmegen and Apeldoorn are very similarly sized, with the former having more inhabitants than Arnhem, the latter a few thousand fewer. Other major regional centers in Gelderland are Ede, Doetinchem, Zutphen, Tiel, Wijchen, Wageningen, Zevenaar and Epe. Gelderland is the largest province of the Netherlands.